Volusia/Flagler Chapter members recognized at FPRA’s 81st Annual Conference in Tampa

The Volusia/Flagler Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association was well-represented at the organization’s 81st Annual Conference in Tampa this week.

Incoming Chapter President Chris Graham, who serves as Community Information Specialist for the City of DeLand, received an Award of Distinction for his work on the Hometown Heroes Military Banner Program that honors DeLand area veterans and active military service personnel by placing banners in the Downtown DeLand district and giving them replicas to keep at home. The program, which was founded in 2018, also received an Award of Distinction and Judges’ Award in the Mid Florida Local Image Awards.

Incoming Vice President of Public Relations Johanna Santana was recognized as the Volusia/Flagler Chapter’s honoree in the Joe Curley Rising Leaders Class of 2019. Members of each class are recognized as up-and-coming individual FPRA members who demonstrate emerging leadership traits along with dedicated involvement in their local FPRA Chapter. Santana, a resident of DeLand, recently joined Universal Orlando Resort as a Public Relations Manager.

Bethune-Cookman University student Benjamin Simmons III, who served as President of B-CU’s Vision Chapter of FPRA last school year, was awarded the Dr. Bob Davis, APR, CPRC, Scholarship

from the Florida Public Relations Education Foundation. Recipients are awarded $1,500 toward educational expenses.

Chris Graham, left, and Gordon Paulus, APR, CPRC, right

Chapter member Anna Hackett, APR, was recognized at Annual Conference for recently earning Accreditation in Public Relations. The APR is a national credential administered through the Universal Accreditation Board that shows professional competence, expertise and leadership and requires a commitment to progressive public relations industry practices and high standards.

Finally, the Chapter’s efforts in the community earned it a President’s Award for Community Involvement from outgoing FPRA President Gordon Paulus, APR, CPRC, which was presented to the Volusia/Flagler FPRA Chapter President Shelley Szafraniec, APR, CPRC, at the conference. Last year, the Volusia/Flagler Chapter started a new tradition through which the recipient of the Roger Pynn Great Communicator Award chooses a “charity of the year” for the Volusia/Flagler Chapter. In 2018-2019, the Chapter supported the Neighborhood Center of West Volusia, and in 2019-2020, the Chapter will support PACE Center for Girls, which was selected by Bissy Holden, the 2019 Roger Pynn Great Communicator.

B-CU student Benjamin Simmons III, center, with Chris Graham, left, and Shelley Szafraniec, APR, CPRC, right

Szafraniec, who serves as Communications Specialist for the City of Daytona Beach, will serve on FPRA’s State Board, as Vice President for Research and Planning, in the coming program year. She will also remain as a board member for the Volusia/Flagler Chapter.

About Florida Public Relations Association

The Florida Public Relations Association is dedicated to developing public relations practitioners who, through ethical and standardized practices, enhance the public relations profession in Florida. The organization’s 15 professional and 12 student chapters provide professional development, networking and recognition opportunities for its roughly 1,200 members across the state. FPRA is the nation’s oldest public relations organization, established by Lt. Col. John Dillin, APR, CPRC, in 1938. For more information about membership in the local area, visit www.fpravf.org.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s