About Us

The Florida Public Relations Association is dedicated to developing public relations practitioners who utilize ethical practices to enhance the public relations profession. www.fpra.org.

History: The Volusia/Flagler Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association includes Flagler and St. Johns counties as well as Volusia and reaches from St. Augustine to New Smyrna Beach, and from Daytona Beach to Deltona. The chapter was established March 1, 1974, as the Surf Chapter, then became the Volusia County Chapter. In November 2007, the chapter name changed again to the Volusia/Flagler Chapter of FPRA.

Membership: About 55 professionals and students and the organizations they represent. To join, please fill out an application online at the state FPRA website, www.fpra.org.

Scholarships: In addition to other local philanthropic projects, each year when budgeting allows, the Volusia/Flagler Chapter awards scholarships to qualifying Volusia/Flagler college students studying the field of professional Public Relations/Communications.

Student Chapters: The Volusia/Flagler Chapter is actively involved with Bethune-Cookman University’s Vision Chapter, which is under the leadership of Public Relations instructor Dr. Salvator Victor. Faculty and communications students at Daytona State College, Stetson University and Embry Riddle Aeronautical University are encouraged to join the Volusia/Flagler Chapter and participate in local activities. The student membership fee is $30.

Award opportunities: The Volusia/Flagler chapter recognizes annually a Great Communicator in the community. The Great Communicator award is similar to a lifetime achievement award. Other awards offered are the FPRA Member of the Year and Media Representative of the year. Starting in 2008, the chapter began offering a local Image Awards competition, with many awards available for public relations and marketing practitioners with outstanding projects.

*For all but the Member of the Year award, membership is not necessary to apply or nominate someone for an FPRA award.