Davidson to be honored as 2017 Great Communicator on Aug. 23

Gary Davidson

Gary Davidson, longtime public information officer for the Volusia County Sheriff’s Office, has been named 2017 Great Communicator by FPRA Volusia/Flagler. The award will be given at the monthly luncheon on Wednesday, Aug. 23, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. at LPGA International, 1000 Champions Drive, Daytona Beach. RSVP here. The awards luncheon is sponsored by Launch Federal Credit Union.

Davidson retired in June from the Volusia County Sheriff’s Office PIO position he’d held since 1995. During his career, Davidson served as the department’s spokesman, providing information to the news media and public about criminal cases, arrests, newsworthy events and programs.

Davidson was also a leader in the Volusia-Flagler Public Information Network (PIN), which provides training Continue reading

Gary Davidson is 2017 Great Communicator

Dave Byron, left, surprises Gary Davidson with the news that he’s this year’s Great Communicator.

Gary Davidson, who recently retired as longtime public information officer for the Volusia County Sheriff’s Office, has been selected as FPRA Volusia/Flagler’s 2017 Great Communicator. Davidson will be honored by the Chapter in August.

The Great Communicator is the only award that honors lifetime achievements in effective communications in Volusia and Flagler counties. Recipients are selected by a committee of past Great Communicators based on their lifelong commitment to excellence in communications, professional leadership and accomplishments, and service to the community.

Past Great Communicators surprised Davidson with the honor announcement at his retirement party June 30 in DeLand. Please check back for information on how to attend the awards program in August.



‘Leadership Communications’ is focus of June 21 meeting, with past FPRA President Lanette Hart

Lanette Hart, APR, CPRC

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (May 27, 2017) – Past FPRA President Lanette Hart, APR, CPRC, principal of Hart & Associates in Jacksonville, will speak on “Leadership Communications in Changing Times” at the next meeting of the Volusia/Flagler Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association. The meeting will be Wednesday, June 21. RSVP here.

Managing change is a challenge faced by many companies and organizations in today’s times. Leadership communication in changing times can be successful, but it depends on the ability to inform, involve and inspire internal and external stakeholders.

Hart will share with attendees:

·         New trends in leader communications and public relations strategies

·         How to deepen their understanding of the change communications strategic planning process

·         How to discover potential gaps in an organization’s leadership communications planning

·         Tips to personal and professional leadership success

·         How to develop a personal action plan – your “one thing” you could take back to the office.

Continue reading